Room makeover at home…

I have planned (more like tried planning) to paint my kids’ rooms for a few years now, but since I work weekends I found it to be a major challenge. Finally I said the heck with it and made it happen!

I found this adorable vanity, chair and mirror at Faded Elegance in Snohomish one day while out at lunch and I couldn’t resist. They weren’t a set, so I had to look around and we found a bare bones chair and mirror that could match.

The chair was stripped of any fabric and we decided to paint it the same color as the vanity. Jade (my daughter) and I decided to also get ambitious and upholstered it the same night. Call us crazy. 🙂 Jade picked out her own fabric, we ran back to the shop and got busy. Now, I have never done one myself and I typically just “design” them, then leave the rest up to a professional… but it seemed like a small enough job.

Lets just say the upholstery is far from perfect and that I will leave that up to the professionals from here on out! hahaha I do admit though, for what it is…I couldn’t be happier. I think we did a great job, while having fun too!

Of course after we finished the chair, the room needed to be done.

After, we did the walls with this killer color I came up with. I guess you could describe it as eggplant.

In some light the vanity looks jade green or baby blue. It was done with Annie Sloan Chalk paint in Duck Egg. I think the gold mirror is killer next to her purple walls!

2 responses to “Room makeover at home…

Leave a Reply

